Get involved

Get involved

Posted Sun 15 May '16

We welcome people who want to help keep North Kensington Library Building open for public use. Below are some suggestions on how you can help.

  1. Collect signatures Petition PDF
  2. Write to your local councillor (list below).
  3. Write to Victoria Borwick MP.
  4. Make your feelings known at an Ask Nick meeting.
  5. Write about your experience and feelings about the library on our Facebook page.
  6. Sign our petition and share it on your social media/ through your networks.
  7. Write to the Mayor.
  8. Come to our upcoming events.
  9. Write to the private school personally (headteacher) and (chair of governors).

Points you may wish to include in your letter/s

  • Council offering lease without public consultation.
  • The council's own mystery shopper exercise report shows North Kensington Library does better than Chelsea Library on all fronts.
  • The increased floor space the council claim for the new building depends on ignoring the unutilised floor space of the current library.
  • The Council have contacted precisely no disabled peoples’ groups to discuss arrangements, at the old library or the new.
  • The top two floors of the new building will be leased to third party users, this will undoubtedly be primary school children from schools who can afford to lease the space.
  • Cllr Fielding-Mellon’s children are on the list for the schools involved, a conflict of interest he wasn’t minded to announce when he proposed this strategy.
  • Is an £11-million-pound new building really a fiscally sound managment of Library services?
  • Council report hoping that they can fit in as many books as the old library, but this is not guaranteed.
  • Integrated access for the youth club, but only a single lift to transport large groups of wheelchair users to the club.

Select a councilor by ward

Wards

  • Dalgarno
  • St Helen's
  • Golborne
  • Notting Dale
  • Colville
  • Norland
  • Pembridge
  • Holland
  • Campden
  • Abingdon
  • Queen's Gate
  • Earl's Court
  • Redcliffe
  • Courtfield
  • Brompton and Hans Town
  • Stanley
  • Chelsea Riverside
  • Royal Hospital

Councilors

Pat Healy
Labour
020 7361 3975
Cllr.Healy@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Pat Healy

Robert Thompson
Labour
020 7361 3060
cllr.thompson@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Robert Thompson

Eve Allison
Conservative
07722 156866
cllr.allison@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Eve Allison

Mohammed Bakhtiar
Labour
07963 868943
cllr.bakhtiar@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Mohammed Bakhtiar

Emma Dent Coad
Labour
020 7361 3430
Cllr.DentCoad@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Emma Dent Coad

Pat Mason
Labour
07805 922239
Cllr.Mason@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Pat Mason

Bevan Powell
Labour
07512 556429
cllr.powell@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Bevan Powell

Robert Atkinson
Labour
07714 097118
cllr.r.atkinson@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Robert Atkinson

Judith Blakeman
Labour
Cllr.Blakeman@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Judith Blakeman

Beinazir Lasharie
Labour
07800 575786
cllr.lasharie@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Beinazir Lasharie

Monica Press
Labour
07503 568263
cllr.press@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Monica Press

Andrew Lomas
Lib Dem
cllr.lomas@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Andrew Lomas

Harrison Littler
Labour
07828 549700
cllr.littler@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Harrison Littler

David Lindsay
Conservative
020 7243 5873
Cllr.Lindsay@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr David Lindsay

Julie Mills
Conservative
07980 711485
Cllr.Mills@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Julie Mills

Barbara Campbell
Conservative
020 7727 5110
Cllr.Campbell@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Barbara Campbell

David Campion
Conservative
07889 855153
Cllr.Campion@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr David Campion

Deborah Collinson
Conservative
cllr.collinson@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Deborah Collinson

Rock Feilding-Mellen
Conservative
020 7361 3280
Cllr.Feilding-Mellen@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Rock Feilding-Mellen

Warwick Lightfoot
Conservative
020 7229 6041
Cllr.Lightfoot@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Warwick Lightfoot

Tim Ahern
Conservative
020 7361 2896
Cllr.Ahern@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Tim Ahern

Catherine Faulks
Conservative
020 7727 7823
cllr.faulks@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Catherine Faulks

Robert Freeman
Conservative
Cllr.freeman@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Robert Freeman

James Husband
Conservative
cllr.husband@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr James Husband

Anne Cyron
Conservative
cllr.cyron@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Anne Cyron

Sarah Addenbrooke
Conservative
cllr.addenbrooke@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Sarah Addenbrooke

Sam Mackover
Conservative
cllr.mackover@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Sam Mackover

Daniel Moylan
Conservative
Cllr.Moylan@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Daniel Moylan

Matthew Palmer
Conservative
Cllr.Palmer@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Matthew Palmer

Fenella Aouane
Conservative
07795 210996
cllr.aouane@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Fenella Aouane

Malcolm Spalding
Conservative
07789 587816
cllr.spalding@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Malcolm Spalding

Linda Wade
Lib Dem
020 7373 0810
cllr.wade@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Linda Wade

David Nicholls
Conservative
020 7370 2558
cllr.nicholls@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr David Nicholls

Charles Williams
Conservative
cllr.williams@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Charles Williams

Marie-Therese Rossi
Conservative
020 7244 8153
cllr.rossi@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Marie-Therese Rossi

Anthony Coates
Conservative
Cllr.Coates@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Anthony Coates

Quentin Marshall
Conservative
cllr.marshall@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Quentin Marshall

Elizabeth Rutherford
Conservative
020 7361 2430
Mayor@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Elizabeth Rutherford

Timothy Coleridge
Conservative
020 7361 3946
Cllr.Coleridge@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Timothy Coleridge

Nicholas Paget-Brown
Conservative
020 7361 2114
Cllr.Paget-Brown@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Nicholas Paget-Brown

Mary Weale
Conservative
020 7361 3944
Cllr.Weale@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Mary Weale

Kim Taylor-Smith
Conservative
020 7751 5530
cllr.taylor-smith@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Kim Taylor-Smith

William Pascall
Conservative
07710 081027
cllr.pascall@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr William Pascall

Paul Warrick
Conservative
Cllr.Warrick@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Paul Warrick

Adrian Berrill-Cox
Conservative
020 7361 2500 (
cllr.berrill-cox@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Adrian Berrill-Cox

Maighread Condon-Simmonds
Conservative
07757 224470
cllr.condon-simmonds@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Maighread Condon-Simmonds

Gerard Hargreaves
Conservative
020 7361 3944
cllr.hargreaves@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Gerard Hargreaves

Elizabeth Campbell
Conservative
07787 505564
Cllr.E.Campbell@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Elizabeth Campbell

Emma Will
Conservative
07974 350986
cllr.will@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Emma Will

Andrew Rinker
Conservative
07887 702234
cllr.rinker@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Andrew Rinker

Further resources

Hand Book for Library Friends and Users produced by the Library Campaign.

Grenfell Action Group's blog has revealed some of the underhand and undemocratic ways that the council has pursued this course of action.